Industrial Design becomes more and more important for the European industry in the fight against the strong and many times cheaper chinese competition. Especially Germany has with its Bauhaus school a long tradition of industrial design. The EUIPO patent office in Alicante awardes the best ones. Small and Emerging Companies Award has been won by the Air.Go 2.0 automatic bag drop system, owned by Danish firm Marcus Pedersen ApS, and designed by Sara Clement. She shows that women become more and more important in Industrial design. The Industry Award was won by the ARTIS pheno robotic C-arm angiography system from Siemens Healthcare GmbH, designed by Nadja Roth, another strong woman.

To become an oustanding designer

Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Hartmut Esslinger, a German designer with global reach and impact.

Esslinger is known for his collaboration with Steve Jobs and Apple which led to the creation of the “Snow White” design language for Apple in the 1980s. During the course of his professional life, he has designed for some of the world’s largest companies, including Sony, Microsoft, Lufthansa and Disney.

The DesignEuropa Awards are organised by the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO), a decentralised agency of the EU, to celebrate excellence in design and design management among Registered Community Design (RCD) holders. The RCD is a unitary intellectual property right administered by EUIPO and valid throughout the EU-28. It is very important in the fight against ilegal copies and reproductions of design.

The legal issues to protect our European design

The Registered Community Design (RCD) is a unitary intellectual property right, valid in all 28 Member States of the EU, and administered by EUIPO, the European Union Intellectual Property Office. It is a decentralised agency of the EU, based in Alicante, Spain. It manages the registration of the European Union trade mark (EUTM) and the registered Community design (RCD), both of which provide intellectual property protection in all 28 EU Member States, as well as carrying out cooperation activities with the national and regional IP offices of the EU.