by Silvia Mingarelli

Europass is an European Union (Directorate General for Education and Culture) initiative to increase transparency of qualification and mobility of citizens in Europe. It aims to make a person’s skills and qualifications clearly understood throughout Europe (including the European Union, European Economic Area and EU candidate countries).

What do you need?

The five Europass documents are:

    1. Curriculum Vitae
    2. Language Passport
    3. Europass Mobility
    4. Certificate Supplement
    5. Diploma Supplement

Since 2012 individuals have been able to assemble all Europass documents in the European Skills Passport. The European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training (Cedefop) developed and maintains the Europass portal Europass portal in 27 languages. The portal is the reference resource of information related to the five Europass documents. Its purpose is also to help all users create, with a simple wizard, a personal electronic portfolio containing a curriculum vitae (with motivation letter), a language passport or any other document bringing evidence of skills and qualifications (copies of degrees, work certifiates, etc.).

How Europass can be useful for you?

The Europass framework was established by Decision 2241/2004/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 and entered into force on 1st  of January 2005 by its own terms. In every country, a National Europass Centre promotes and provides information on the Europass documents. Europass Web services provide a standard way (web API) for other systems, software, and services to use Europass services in an automated way. An example is the web service which enables the remote generation of Europass documents in PDF, OpenDocument or Microsoft formats, starting from a Europass XML file.


Here you get the templates